Xfce

Subdomains
 

Drivel and Keyboard

  • April 21, 2008
  • Josh Saddler - Category: Xfce

What have I been doing lately?

Patching Drivel, that's what!

I like using Drivel. I never lose a blog entry with this thing, which is more than can be said when Planet Gentoo suddenly crashes when I'm submitting an entry. (Side note: are there any good graphical clients that work with b2evolution? I've yet to find anything in Portage.)

Even though Drivel upstream seems mostly dead, there are still patches to fix problems or add features floating around Bugzilla, so I've been grabbing them and testing, and if they check out, adding them to the ebuild I use in my local overlay.

So far, I've added patches & fixes to my ebuild that fix a memory leak, fix compiling with gtksourceview-2 (Thanks ecatmur! one fewer app that needs 1.x), update the Blogger login URL, and add tag support for LiveJournal. Upstream left a weird version in ltmain.sh; it was giving libtool version mismatch fits. Some judicious sed usage killed it. With extreme prejudice.

Anyway, Drivel's now much more usable. I haven't been through all the open bugs yet, but there's probably another patch or two that can be made presentable. One thing I discovered is that Drivel is using a few deprecated libraries and functions. It's got several deprecated uses of libegg (which has been replaced by equivalent functionality in gtk+), and it still relies on GnomeVFS.

Fortunately, the open bug for libegg has some info on porting to the appropriate gtk+ code, and there's also the guide to Migrating from GnomeVFS to GIO. I'm actually going to give it a shot. It's well documented, and it looks like it's nothing more than an long, intensive search-and-replace session. Right? Right? Guys? Guys?

Even if I fail utterly, well, it'll be fun to try it. Will follow up on this later.

In the meantime, you can get the updated Drivel ebuild and patches here. Just untar it in your ${PORTDIR_OVERLAY}/net-misc/ directory.

* * *

In other news, my new keyboard arrived in the mail a couple of days ago. It's much cleaner, slightly less resonant, and more interesting than the old keyboard. The Delete key got moved up near Backspace (what's the use in that?!?), so some judicious Xmodmap usage shoved the Insert key left, replacing Control_R, and I changed Ins to Del. I need my Del key right next to the arrowpad when working on documents.

The keyboard isn't as quiet as I'd hoped, but it's less squeaky than the old one, and it masses more, so it sponges up some of the resonance when hammering keys. Also, it's got 17 hotkeys, and every single one of them are correctly detected in Linux, no drivers needed (take that, included Windows XP driver CD!). More productivity, whoo!

Gnome's keyboard utility picked up the hotkeys and allowed me to assign them to various standard media key behaviors, but I chose to forgo that and use Xmodmap, since it works for both Gnome and Xfce. Xfce initially couldn't see the hotkeys, but it recognized them after I setup my /etc/X11/Xmodmap. Interestingly, Xfce correctly executes Xmodmap at login with no further setup needed, but Gnome doesn't. I had to go into the Sessions dialog and create an "Xmodmap" startup program entry.

This is weird, because GDM is supposed to execute any Xmodmaps found, whether in the user's home or systemwide in /etc/, and if it finds both, it's supposed to combine 'em. Poke around in /etc/X11, and you'll see that multiple files try to execute Xmodmap. However, GDM and Gnome have utterly failed here. They're weird like that sometimes.

whaawmp 0.2.10

  • April 15, 2008
  • Mark Trompell
Jeff just released a bugfix release for whaawmp. It doesn't lockup anymore, if xvideo isn't available and it works with other imagesinks too now.
I hope to put out an alpha of Foresight Linux Xfce Edition this week eventually.
We will see. Get latest whaawmp while waiting :-)

No GSoC

  • March 19, 2008
  • Brian Tarricone

Sadly, we didn't get accepted into Google's Summer of Code this year. It's a shame, but I'm glad I went through the effort to apply. If nothing else, we got some potentially-useful ideas and possibly some developer interest. Obviously we can't fund any of these people, but it would be great if they still want to contribute.

Update: The coordinator got back to me, and said our ideas page wasn't very fleshed out, and that we should look at other accepted applicants and the program guidelines for help on how to do this right... never mind that I actually did look at some older accepted projects, and their ideas lists were at times even more sparse than ours (though many were much more formally written up as well). Also she gave the usual "we can't accept every great project" excuse, which at least gives some hope for next year. I'm not particularly sure I want to go through the work to apply again, but maybe someone else will.

No GSoC

  • March 19, 2008
  • Brian Tarricone

Sadly, we didn’t get accepted into Google’s Summer of Code this year. It’s a shame, but I’m glad I went through the effort to apply. If nothing else, we got some potentially-useful ideas and possibly some developer interest. Obviously we can’t fund any of these people, but it would be great if they still want to contribute.

Update: The coordinator got back to me, and said our ideas page wasn’t very fleshed out, and that we should look at other accepted applicants and the program guidelines for help on how to do this right… never mind that I actually *did* look at some older accepted projects, and their ideas lists were at times even more sparse than ours (though many were much more formally written up as well). Also she gave the usual “we can’t accept every great project” excuse, which at least gives some hope for next year. I’m not particularly sure I want to go through the work to apply again, but maybe someone else will.

The King

  • March 17, 2008
  • Brian Tarricone

I am apparently a "Cool Nerd King":

NerdTests.com says I'm a Cool Nerd King.  What are you?  Click here!

I think I'm happy about that, actually.

whaawmp 0.2.8

  • March 11, 2008
  • Mark Trompell
Today Jeff, released whaawmp 0.2.8.
Check it out here.
There is a release for Python 2.4 too.
On to Xfce Edition. I still hope to get an iso out this week.
I'm thinking about replacing OO.o with abiword/gnumeric on default installation, if it reduces the iso size enough to fit on one CD.
But there are still things missing, so I will probably end up with a bigger image anyway.
Let's get it out for testing...

Xfce and Google’s Summer of Code

  • March 4, 2008
  • Brian Tarricone

While we haven't been accepted into the program yet, we (Xfce) are applying to participate in the 2008 Google Summer of Code as a mentoring organisation. Please see our wiki page for more information, and add your name to the students list if you'd like to work on one of the projects. Feel free to add to the project ideas list as well.

If you'd like to act as a mentor, you still have a few more days before I submit the application. Add your name to the mentors list and email me to let me know.

Xfce and Google’s Summer of Code

  • March 4, 2008
  • Brian Tarricone

While we haven’t been accepted into the program yet, we (Xfce) are applying to participate in the 2008 Google Summer of Code as a mentoring organisation. Please see our wiki page for more information, and add your name to the students list if you’d like to work on one of the projects. Feel free to add to the project ideas list as well.

If you’d like to act as a mentor, you still have a few more days before I submit the application. Add your name to the mentors list and email me to let me know.

Ristretto, a ‘lightweight’ image viewer

  • March 4, 2008
  • Stephan Arts

From the moment I started developing ristretto, I mentioned that it was a simple lightweight image viewer. This is a statement which is bound to be disputed by some, and here is the reason why: ‘There is no such thing as a lightweight image viewer‘. And they are right, decompressing an image requires a lot of CPU-power, and a fully decompressed image requires the presence of enough RAM memory in order to do anything usefull with it at any acceptable speed. No image viewer has been able to surpass this limitation, ristretto is no exception to that rule.

So, why do I say ristretto is lightweight? — Because there is more to an image viewer then the two constants I mentioned before, a basic image viewer should:

  • Navigate between images in an entire folder
  • Display image thumbnails
  • Run a slideshow
  • Flip / Rotate images
  • Read (and interpret) EXIF meta-data, for jpeg images taken by digital camera’s.
  • Have well-documented comprehensible code

At this moment, a rudimentary implementation of these features have found their way inside ristretto. Rudimentary, because each component is being looked after if it needs refactoring. The goal is to improve these features until ristretto is a stable and fast image viewer using as little memory as possible (making it relatively lightweight), considering it’s purpose.

I’ve just summed up the first priority of ristretto development; to write a simple and fast image viewer, which does just that: show images.

Any additional features, like importing images from a digital camera (using libgphoto2) or printing images to paper could probably be added through a plugin interface or something. Keeping the basic application simple while allowing individual users to add features they like. If, when and how this is going to be implemented is still a question though ;).

It’s getting there…

  • February 28, 2008
  • Mark Trompell
Fosdem is over. I heard some talkes, investigated some booths, but the fun thing was meeting Michael, Ken, Antonio, and some other guys there.
I guess there are better organized events and meetings out there, but it was worth going there (at least if it's only a 2,5h ride). Unfortunatly I didn't run into any Xfce developer, but a few of them have been there. Hope next time they will have a booths or a devroom (even if they would have to share with Gnome).
I did some improvments to Xfce Edition, added a lot of "unimportant" packages I just forgot (network-manager-applet, gimp, inkscape, evince, brasero).
So biggest issue now is to make gdm start Xfce as default, for new users.
Whaawmp is now working with python 2.4, I added a svn snapshot to Xfce Edition.
Unfortunatly due to gst dvdnav bugginess, it doesn't support dvd menus. C'est la vi.
So long...